Welcome to CrackRoll.com! - please login or click this bar to join our community...

XHeli.com EXI-500CF Heli Kits Lipos Parts 2.4GHz Tools Mfgr.
Create a new account or Log in:     Remember Me    I forgot my password!
 
     

Go Back   Crackroll.com > R/C Blogs > CSpaced's blog

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default Going FBL Crazy

I seem to be on a flybarless conversion kick, and amongst other things I just converted my Chaos 600 to flybarless using a spare TRex 550/600 head with a shorter main shaft and the BeastX Microbeast. Can't wait to fly it!

Attached Thumbnails
  • Click image for larger version

Name:	beastie.jpg
Views:	4014
Size:	122.8 KB
ID:	122.8 KB · Views: 4014

CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:38 PM   #2
Bigugly
Collective Pitch
 
Bigugly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 180
Default

I just got my first flybarless heli, and I am going to start converting my others, starting with my Trex 600N. I think Im gonna go with the 550 head and beastx.
Bigugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

Can't go wrong with either! The head I used was the older V1 version, with seperate washout that need to be clamped to the main shaft. The newer V2 heads have eliminated the seperate washout, and worked it into a single piece head block - it's pretty cool!
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:58 PM   #4
Bigugly
Collective Pitch
 
Bigugly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 180
Default

Yeah I want the newer version but I cant find a part # for the complete new head.
I had also looked at the 600pro head but couldnt find a part # for that one either. I would like to be able to just order the head and be done with it rather than piecing it together. Im lazy
Bigugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:36 AM   #5
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

If you have no luck finding the complete head, you could piece it together using:

Head Block

Grips

Links and Main Shaft

Mixing Arms (dion't need the base)
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:35 PM   #6
Bigugly
Collective Pitch
 
Bigugly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 180
Default

My buddy at the hobby shop hooked me with a deal so I ordered the whole head and the new head block.
Bigugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:44 AM   #7
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

Sweet!
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 09:10 AM   #8
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

Well, I almost got to fly the Chaos this weekend, right up until I blew up my receiver, a couple of servos, and the ESC. Note for the future! Don't get distracted when plugging the power cable into what you "think" is the SPC port on a hitec receiver!

I'm sending the stuff off this morning to be repaired, soon as it gets back I'll get it in the air!
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 08:50 PM   #9
Bigugly
Collective Pitch
 
Bigugly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 180
Default

Sorry to hear that. Those Hitec receivers are confusing to me
Bigugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:39 AM   #10
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

They're not confusing, I just should have been paying more attention when I plugged the wires back in!
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #11
Dpelletier
Coaxial
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynard, Massachsuetts
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSpaced View Post
They're not confusing, I just should have been paying more attention when I plugged the wires back in!
I have a question for you...

Does the spc need to powered before the servo rail.
I think I did mine backwards, 8.4 volts on the servos, then 18.5 volts on the spc, lights came on, blue and red but nothing worked.
Now lights wont even come on.
Dpelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:33 PM   #12
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dpelletier View Post
I have a question for you...

Does the spc need to powered before the servo rail.
I think I did mine backwards, 8.4 volts on the servos, then 18.5 volts on the spc, lights came on, blue and red but nothing worked.
Now lights wont even come on.
Mine are wired in from the same battery, so are powered simultaneously.

If you did wire it the wrong way around (like I did) then you will have blown the receiver. It definitely won't like 18.5 volts on the servo side. I have seen talk that the optima's will accept a 2 cell lipo on the servo side, so I think you should be safe there.

A quick way to test the receiver is to just plug the SPC plug back in and see if you can power up the receiver.
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:31 AM   #13
Dpelletier
Coaxial
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynard, Massachsuetts
Posts: 6
Default

On my Beam, power goes to both rails simultaneously when I connect the battery to the ESC. I have never had any problems with that set-up.

On my new build, I am running 2 5S LIPOs in series for 10S power. The spc port is being fed from one 5S and the BEC 10S and supplies 8.3 volts to the servo rail.
It would seem that I need to plug in the SPC side of the series setup first, then the other which will then complete the circuit for the BEC to do its thing.
When I connected the LIPOs in the other order, the Rx lights lit up, both red and blue, and then nothing worked, disconnect and reconnect, all dead.

Here is my power harness:

The two right EC5 connectors are for the batteries. The left EC5 is to the ESC and the EC3 connector is to the BEC.

Here is the whole mess:
Dpelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:26 AM   #14
CSpaced
Administrator
 
CSpaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Ridge, NC
Posts: 2,677
Default

The SPC port can only handle up to 35v, based on the way you have it wired it looks like you fed 44.4v into the SPC....
CSpaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:34 AM   #15
Dpelletier
Coaxial
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynard, Massachsuetts
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSpaced View Post
The SPC port can only handle up to 35v, based on the way you have it wired it looks like you fed 44.4v into the SPC....
no, the spc is receiving only 1 of the 5S' voltage, when it worked the A9 telemetry showed 19.5 volts.

I apologize for hi-jacking your FBL thread... I posted this on RCGroups and Helifreak.
Dpelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FBL choice for 550? CSpaced Flybarless Systems 9 01-07-2014 08:59 PM
Discussion T-Rex 700 FBL Turbine 3D Jamiem Videos 6 07-17-2011 07:46 AM
Gaui 200 Crazy 3d, in case you have not seen. nexgen 3D Flying 15 10-12-2008 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.

All Crackroll.com content copyright 2008-2014 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The Crackroll.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.
Please report any misuse of our trademarks or copyright violations using the contact form.
RCGroups Network :: RCGroups :: The E Zone :: Lift Zone :: RC Power :: Flying Giants :: RC Cars

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All Crackroll.com content copyright 2008